The Montevideo tennis team won two championships at the West Central Conference tournament at Benson on Saturday.

The Montevideo tennis team won two championships at the West Central Conference tournament at Benson on Saturday.

Junior Ryan Maroney won the No. 3 singles championship, and senior Kurt Baldwin and junior Blake Jorgensen took the No. 3 doubles title.

After winning his first-round match, Maroney knocked off second-seeded David Nowacki of Yellow Medicine East to reach the finals. Maroney edged No. 1 seed Austin Laumb of New London-Spicer in the championship match 7-5, 7-6 (7-4).

Baldwin and Jorgensen were the No. 1 seeds at third doubles. They had a tough three-set match in the semifinals before winning the championship match in straight sets.

Taking second place were Jesse Brace, at No. 1 singles, the No. 1 doubles team of Darin Stevens and Walker Danielson, and the No. 2 duo of Adam Peters and Jason Neville.

“We had five of seven in the finals, so we were pretty happy with that,” said Montevideo coach Mark Johnson. “I think the kids have improved a lot.”

The Thunder Hawks split a pair of matches, losing 5-2 to Worthington here last Thursday and beating Redwood Valley 6-1 here on Tuesday.

Montevideo’s final regular season match will be here Friday against MACCRAY.

The T-Hawks will likely be the No. 3 seed in the Section 3A tournament behind Luverne and Worth­ington. Montevideo will open the tournament with a home match on Monday, possibly against Pipestone.

The tournament continues  May 22 and 24 at Redwood Falls.
Worthington 5, Montevideo 2
1S    Dan Wetering (W) def. Jesse Brace 7-5, 6-4.
2S    Lance Homan (W) def. Alex Carlbom 6-4, 7-6 (7-5).
3S    Ryan Maroney (Mon) def. Carter Lindner 4-6, 6-0, 7-6 (7-4).
4S    Andrew Johnson (W) def Sahnje McGonigle 6-1, 6-0.
1D    Matt Sorensen-Jonah Oberloh (W) def. Darin Stevens-Walker Danielson 6-1, 6-4.
2D    Jason Neville-Adam Peters (Mon) def. Dillon Pedersen-Ben Doeden 6-4, 6-2.
3D    A.J. Hayenga-Nick Newman (W) def. Kurt Baldwin-Blake Jorgensen 6-4, 1-6, 6-4.

West Central Conference
1S    Jesse Brace bye; def. Jake Pederson (Minn) 6-3, 6-2; lost 1-6, 0-6 to Jack Hansen (LqPVDB). 2nd place.
2S    Devin Johnson lost 2-6, 3-6 Aaron Szczur (BKMS); lost 1-6, 0-6 Graydon Tanis (Minn).
3S    Ryan Maroney def. Conrad Mathies (LqPVDB) 6-0, 6-0; def. David Nowacki (YME) 6-2, 7-5; def. Austin Laumb (NLS) 7-5, 7-6 (7-4). 1st place.
4S    Sahnje McGonigle def. Harrison Rigenhager (LqPVDB) 2-6, 6-3, 6-1; lost 1-6, 1-6 Ethan Ator (YME); def. Tyler Bergman (BKMS) 6-1, 6-3. 3rd place.
1D    Darin Stevens-Walker Danielson bye; def. Smith-Melcher (BKMS) 6-1, 6-2; lost 2-6, 0-6 Nelson-Moller (NLS). 2nd place.
2D    Jason Neville-Adam Peters bye; def. Goff-Gosson (BKMS) 6-3, 6-2; lost 2-6, 5-7 Fortney-Eckhoff (NLS) 2nd place.
3D    Kurt Baldwin-Blake Jorgensen bye; def. Miller-Nelson (NLS) 6-1, 4-6, 6-3; def. Elliott-Nokleby (YME) 6-3, 6-1. 1st place.

Monte 6, Redwood Valley 1
1S    Jesse Brace (Mon) def. Taylor Rebstock 6-0, 6-3.
2S    Alex Carlbom (Mon) def. Tyler Hagen 6-1, 6-4.
3S    Ryan Maroney (Mon) def. Max Russell 6-1, 6-1.
4S    Armando Davilla (RV)?def. Sahnje McGonigle 5-7, 7-5, 7-6 (7-4).
1D    Walker Danielson-Darin Stev­ens (Mon) def. Ben Schmidt-Dallas Greenslit 6-1, 6-0.
2D    Adam Peters-Jason Neville (Mon) def. Logan Jensen-Shawn Sherman 6-2, 6-4.
3D    Kurt Baldwin-Blake Jorgensen (Mon) def. Cole Pettis-Clay Kokesch 6-1, 6-1.