Montevideo American-News
  • Track champions crowned at Fiesta City Speedway

  • Season championship night at Fiesta City Speedway featured some close finishes in features on Friday night.
    • email print
  • Season championship night at Fiesta City Speed­way featured some close finishes in features on Friday night.
    The first feature of the evening was the WISSOTA Late Model makeup feature from Aug. 3. Rick Schroeder led all 18 laps for his first win of the year.
    Jordan Tollakson passed Shane Kruger two laps into the Pure Stock feature to get the win driving his brother Jon's race car.
    Dustin Zieske held off Aaron Wetterlin to win the WISSOTA Mod IV feature. The win was his fourth of the season.
    Justin Tammen and Mike Jans battled side by side in the closing laps of the WISSOTA Street Stock feature. As they came to take the checkered flag, Tammen and Jans crossed the finish line nearly dead even. Tammen was de­clared the winner for his fifth feature win of the year.
    Travis Berends and Cory Tammen came to the checkered flag of the WISSOTA Super Stock feature in a dead heat. Tammen was declared the winner for his sixth win of the season.
    Brian Haben took the lead from Jason Vejtruba two laps into the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature. Haben led the rest of the way for his 10th win of the year.
    Nick Beyenhof passed Rick Schroeder for the lead at the halfway point of the WISSOTA Late Model feature. Beyenhof had to hold off Zach Johnson in the closing laps for his first win at Fiesta City Speedway.
    This year's track champ-ions are: Pure Stock, Shane Kruger, Clara City; WISSOTA Mod IV, Dustin Zieske, Willmar; WISSOTA Street Stock, Mike Jans, Marshall; WISSOTA Super Stock, Cory Tam­men, Fargo, N.D.; WISSOTA Midwest Modi­fied, Brian Haben, Holl­o­way; WISSOTA Late Mod­el, Corey Nelson, Canby.
    More improvements to the speedway are planned for next season. The 2013 racing season starts in May.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar