Montevideo American-News
  • Monte boys win on home turf

  • The Montevideo boys cross country team treated its fans to a big win in the Montevideo Invitational held Tuesday at The Crossings.
    • email print
  • The Montevideo boys cross country team treated its fans to a big win in the Montevideo Invitational held Tuesday at The Crossings.
    After counting the placings of their first five runners, Montevideo and Marshall were tied with 50 points. If teams are deadlocked, the sixth runner on each team is counted as a tiebreaker. Mitch Moe, Montevideo’s sixth-place runner on Tuesday, finished 19th, while Marshall’s No. 6 runner placed 29th, giving Montevideo the meet championship. Can­by/Min­ne­ota/Lincoln HI was a close third, with 54 points.
    Leading the way for the Thunder Hawks was Ryan Maroney, with a fourth-place individual finish. He was followed Zac Enevoldsen, in eighth place; Joe Varpness, 10th; Tristan Weber, 13th; and Jared Benjamin, 15th.
    “Our boys were facing a tough task against Canby and Morris, and we shouldn’t have had a chance against Marshall, but we seem to be getting stronger as the season goes on. It was a big win for our team,” said Montevideo coach Jamie Harrington.
    The Thunder Hawks were fourth out of seven complete teams in the varsity girls run.
    Freshman Claire Sul­flow and senior Addie Reinert ran together most of the race, with Sulflow finishing 12th and Reinert 14th.
    Rounding out the team scoring for Montevideo were Trisha Jakobs, in 20th; Jaden Wamstad, 25th; and Mollie Varpness, 26th.
    Both Montevideo teams had good days in the Yellow Medicine East Invitational at River Run Golf Course in Granite Falls last Thursday.
    The Montevideo boys won the meet with an impressive team score of 28 points.
    Six Thunder Hawks finished in the top 10, led by Maroney, in third place.
    The Montevideo girls were second, behind Lac qui Parle Valley/Dawson-Boyd.
    Reinert led the T-Hawks with a fifth-place finish.
    “We’re not too far off the top teams in the conference and section, but are trying to get everyone healthy for a strong stretch run,” said Harrington of the girls team.
    Both Montevideo teams will get a good idea of what to expect in the Section 3A meet when they compete in the Adrian Invitational Tuesday.
    YME Invitational
    Boys Team Scoring
    1. Montevideo 28
    2. Yellow Medicine East 88
    3. LqP Valley/Dawson-Boyd 89
    4. BOLD 107
    5. Willmar Comm. Christian 124
    6. Springfield/CM/Comfrey 136
    7. MACCRAY/RCW 144
    8. Ortonville 193
    Medalist: Ben Burgett, WCC, 16:19
    Montevideo runners: (3) Ryan Mar­oney, 17:03; (4) Zac Ene­vold­sen, 17:21; (5) Joe Varpness, 17:24; (7) Tristan Weber, 17:40; (9) Kurt TeBeest, 17:57; (10) Jared Benjamin, 18:01
    Girls Team Scoring
    1. LqP Valley/Dawson-Boyd 22
    2. Montevideo 38
    3. Willmar Comm. Christian 104
    4. Yellow Medicine East 108
    5. Ortonville 124
    Page 2 of 2 - 6. Springfield/CM/Comfrey 144
    Medalist: Alaysia Freetly, LqPCVDB, 15:32
    Montevideo runners: (5) Addie Reinert, 16:25; (6) Trisha Jakobs, 16:55; (11) Mollie Varpness, 17:10; (13) Taylor Root, 17:36; (14) Jamilah Carson, 17:45
    Montevideo Invitational
    Boys Team Scoring
    1. Montevideo 50
    2. Marshall 50
    3. Canby/Minneota/Lincoln HI 54
    4. Yellow Medicine East 123
    5. Morris/Chokio-Alberta 132
    6. BOLD/BL-Hector 139
    7. LqP Valley/Dawson-Boyd 143
    8. Ortonville 197
    Medalist: Nick Stoks, CMLHI, 16:41.78
    Montevideo runners: (4) Ryan Maroney, 17:50.10; (8) Zac Enevoldsen, 18:56; (10) Joe Varpness, 18:22.92; (13) Tristan Weber, 18:52.41; (15) Jared Benjamin, 18:54.68; (19) Mitch Moe, 19:18.10
    Girls Team Scoring
    1. Marshall 34
    2. Canby/Minneota/Lincoln HI 51
    3. LqP Valley/Dawson-Boyd 73
    4. Montevideo 97
    5. Morris/Chokio-Alberta 109
    6. Ortonville 176
    7. Yellow Medicine East 187
    Medalist: Makenzie Smith, MCA, 15:30.01
    Montevideo runners: (12) Claire Sulflow, 16:17.91; (14) Addie Reinert, 16:31.63; (20) Trisha Jakobs, 17:05.45; (25) Jaden Wamstad, 17:51.09; (26) Mollie Varpness, 17:53.50; (28) Taylor Root, 17:58.67; (31) Jamilah Carson, 18:26.42
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar