Pioneer Public Television will broadcast Meet The Candidates this Thursday evening.

Pioneer Public Television will broadcast Meet The Candidates this Thursday evening, October 18, featuring Minnesota State House of Representative candidates from House District 17B and Senate Districts 17 and 12. District 17B Republican candidate Bruce Vogel, Willmar, and DFL candidate Mary Sawatzky, Willmar are scheduled to appear live beginning at 7:00 PM. At 8:00 PM candidates from Senate District 17, Lyle Koenen (DFL), Clara City, and Joe Gimse (R), Willmar, will debate. The 9:00 PM debate will feature candidates from Senate District 12: Torrey Westrom (R), Elbow Lake and John Schultz (DFL), Correll. The schedule for October 18 includes: 7:00pm House District 17B Bruce Vogel (R), Mary Sawatzky (DFL) 8:00pm Senate District 17 Joe Gimse (R), Lyle Koenen (DFL) 9:00pm Senate District 12 Torrey Westrom (R), John Schultz (DFL) The Meet The Candidates forums are being aired on Thursday evenings to provide area viewers an opportunity to hear candidates in an unbiased setting. Moderated by Amy Doll Wohlers, viewers are invited to phone their questions to Pioneer at 800-726-3178 during each program. Questions may also be sent by email to Pioneer General Manager Les Heen stated, “The large sizes of our rural districts make it difficult for voters to see their candidates side by side. The Meet the Candidate setting is an excellent opportunity for Pioneer to help provide a public information service before the elections in November.” Pioneer Public Television is a viewer-supported public television station. Programming may be viewed on KWCM Channel 10 from Appleton, KSMN Channel 20 from Worthington and K49-FA Channel 49 from Fergus Falls.